CJS celebrates achievements at the NJSA Awards Ceremony

On Sunday afternoon many CJS players, parents, and coaches arrived at the NJSA Awards Ceremony, held in the Laerskool Menlopark school hall.

The focus?  To celebrate the achievements of these young squash players!

And what a year it was!  After the gap that the lockdown created these past two years, where sports events were limited and even prohibited, it was exciting to see our players return to the courts with renewed enthusiasm and energy!

Many players experienced their first-ever IPT (Inter Provincial Tournament), while others could play against the friends they made over the years of playing squash.

I want to congratulate the following individual players for their achievements:

  • NJSA Best U14 Player (Girl): Teonie Badenhorst (Hoërskool Zwartkop)
  • NJSA Best U14 Player (Boy): Gerhard van der Westhuizen (Midstream College)
  • NJSA Primary School Player of the Year (Girl): Starla Phillips (Homeschool)
  • NJSA Most Improved Player of the Year (Boy): Martin de Koning (Midstream Primary College)
  • SA Top 10 Boys U16: Juan-Corne Brand (Hoërskool Zwartkop)
  • SA Top 10 Boys U16: Frederik Botha (Hoërskool Zwartkop)
  • SA Top 10 Girls U16: Chanté Leppan (Hoërskool Zwartkop)
  • SA Top 10 Girls U16: Elzandri Janse van Rensburg (Midstream College)
  • SA Top 10 Boys U14: Aurick Sheosunker (Midstream College)
  • SA Top 10 Boys U14: Gerhard van der Westhuizen (Midstream College)
  • SA Top 10 Boys U14: Wian de Bruin (Midstream College)
  • SA Top 10 Girls U14: Teonie Badenhorst (Hoërskool Zwartkop)
  • SA Top 10 Girls U14: Kaitlyn van Wyk (Hoërskool Zwartkop)
  • NJSA Merit Award 2022 Growthpoint SA Nationals Girls U15 Winner: Elzandri Janse van Rensburg (Midstream College)
  • NJSA Merit Award 2022 Growthpoint SA Nationals Boys U15 Winner: Juan-Corne Brand (Hoërskool Zwartkop)

Congratulations were also given to the players who were selected to represent NJSA at the Country Schools Festival (17 players from CJS) and the IPTs (various Inter-Provincial Tournaments, with 46 players from CJS).

🏆 In the Primary schools league, the Boys’ section winners were Laerskool Rooihuiskraal in the A League, Midstream Primary College B1 in the B League, and Midstream Primary College Intro in the Intro League. In the Girls’ section, Midstream Ridge Primary A won the A league and Midstream Primary College A won the C league.

🏆 The High schools leagues were also held earlier in 2022. Midstream College won the Girls A league, Hoërskool Zwartkop won the Girls B League and Hoërskool Eldoraigne won the Girls C league. In the Boys’ leagues, Hoërskool Eldoraigne won the B and E leagues.

Congratulations to each player! And a HIGH FIVE ✋ to you, the parents, for your support, love, and encouragement!